Rotary District 9705

DG Michael Moore

On 1st July 2020 our new Rotary District 9705 became a reality with the merging of the two Districts 9700 & 9710.

At the District Changeover held via ZOOM Webinar, the District Governors for 2019-20, John Mackenzie for D9700 and Peter Ford for D9710 reviewed their years and handed over to D9705 Governor for 2020-21, Dr. Michael Moore AM PhD.

Dr. Michael Moore AM PhD – A short Curriculum Vitae

• Dual citizenship – Australian and Canadian
• Married with three adult children
Roles Held
• Inaugural Rotary District 9705 District Governor
• CEO – Public Health Association of Australia Inc (2008 – 2018)
• President World Federation of Public Health Associations (2016-2018)
o President Elect (2014 – 16)
o Chair Immunization Taskforce (2019 ongoing)
• Chair and member of series of Boards
o Currently Chair National Drug Research Institute at Curtin University
o Member Soils for Life
o Member: Community Advisory Committee Charles Sturt University
• Company Director – MooreConnections Pty Ltd
o Consultancy in Health and eGovernment / National and International
• Small-medium Business Owner/Manager – Psychedeli Cafe with 18 staff
• Government Minister –
o First Australian Independent to be appointed Minister
o Health and Community Care, Corrections and Housing
• Leader of the House – ACT Parliament
• Member of Parliament – Independent MLA in the ACT for four terms
• Political and social columnist – City News a Canberra weekly newspaper since 2006
• Teaching: Tertiary and Secondary Teacher, Secondary School Faculty Head
• Distinguished Fellow: The George Institute of Global Health (University of NSW) from 2018
• Adjunct Professor at the University of Canberra since 2001
• Bachelor of Arts (Flinders University)
• Post Graduate Diploma of Education (Adelaide University)
• Master of Population Health (Australian National University)
• PhD University of Canberra – Power, Politics Persuasion: The Critical Friend in Public Health Advocacy
• Over 500 articles in peer reviewed journals, newspapers, blogs, book chapters and magazines
• Paul Harris Fellow (Awarded by the Rotary Club of Canberra in 2010 )
• President: Canberra Club 2007/08 with Presidential Citation
• Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM)
• Sidney Sax Public Health Medal (Public Health Association of Australia
• Life Member Public Health Association of Australia
• Health in All Award 2014 – (University of NSW)
• Justice Gerald Le Dain Award for Achievement in the Field of Law (Drug Policy Foundation USA)
• Aids Action Council President’s Award 2001

Leave a Reply